Report on the 8th SIT competition CCSITC – 2019 conducted on 2nd February 2019


A supervisory improvement team competition, CCSITC – 2019, exclusively for supervisory personnel was conducted on 2nd February 2019 at Meenakshi Sundararajan Engineering College campus, Arcot road, Kodamabakkam, Chennai – 600 024. The theme of the competition was “SIT – Role model for world class work place”.

The inaugural function started with a welcome address by Prof.C.Uthayakumar, GC member. The coordinator of the event, Mr.V.Thiagarajan presented the overview of the event. Presidential address was delivered by Mr.T.R.Narasimhan, Chairman, QCFI Chennai Chapter. He emphasized the role of supervisors in improving organizational performance and explained the pivotal role played by QCFI, Chennai chapter in providing a platform to show case the improvements made by the supervisors. Mr.A.Mayuranathan, GC member delivered the vote of thanks.

Totally 64 teams from 35 organizations participated in the competition. Last year there were 53 teams from 27 organizations. 195 team members presented their various improvement case studies implemented in their organizations. There were 10 delegates taking the total participants to 205. Three organizations sent their teams for the first time, which include Chidambaram Fishnet private limited, Mahle Anand Filter Systems private limited and Lakshmi Machine Tools limited. The presentations were evaluated by eight jury members at four parallel sessions. The case studies were on productivity, quality, cost, delivery and safety improvements.

Mr.V.Shankar, Project Management Leader, WABCO INDIA Limited was the chief guest at the valedictory function, presided over by Mr.T.R.Narasimhan. The chief guest appreciated the efforts of QCFICC in providing the best platform for the teams to show case their achievements, which also facilitates for the participants for cross learning and networking. Three participants including a woman participant gave their feedback and expressed satisfaction for the arrangements made during the event. 55 teams won Par Excellence award and 19 teams won Excellence award.

During the valedictory function, Mr.S.Murugan, GC member provided the judges feedback. Dr.T.Kalaichelvan another GC member was the master of ceremony during the inaugural and valedictory functions. GC members Dr.P.R.Nakkeeran welcomed the participants and Mr.S.Sundaram delivered the vote of thanks. Mr.A.Mayuranathan and Prof.C.Uthayakumar were part of the jury team and extended full support for the successful conduct of the competition.


1 × 4 =