27th Chapter Convention on Quality Concepts-2018, organised by QCFI Bokaro Chapter


27th Chapter Convention on Quality Concepts-2018, organised by QCFI Bokaro Chapter was a major event for  Quality Circle activity in this region. The CCQC-2018 was held on 26h-27t Oct’2018 at Main Auditorium of HRD centre of Bokaro Steel Plant . Thirty eight QC teams participated in this CCQC.   Eighteen studies from TATA STEEL, TATA STEEL Technical Institute, TATA MOTORS, OMQ (Noamundi), One Study from BPSCL and Eighteen studies from BOKARO STEEL PLANT  were  presented at the Convention. There were 20 teams from outside Bokaro Steel Plant in this Chapter Convention.).


Registration of participating QCs began on 26 th Oct’2018 from 2: 30 pm onwards.

The inaugural session was chaired by Sri A.B. Choudhury, Director QCFI.

A knowledge Test was organised for QC groups the same evening wherein 35 teams participated . The top three winners were  “Tata Shakti”  first (from Tata Steel) “LOTUS” second (from TATA STEEL) and  “ CAST HOUSE ” third (from TATA STEEL).

Simultaneously, a  QC Model Competition was held at HRD “ The Retreat ”, where 17 teams displayed their Models. The winners were  QC “ PAWAN” (First) from TATA STEEL, “ QC-480 (BIKRANT) “ (Second) from SINTER PLANT (Bokaro Steel Plant) and “ QC-1627 ” (Third) from CAPITAL REPAIR –ELECTRICAL (BOKARO STEEL PLANT) .

Technical Sessions were held at four venues concurrently on 27th Oct-2018 where 38 teams presented their case studies. Evaluation of case studies was done by a Panel of Judges on 100 point criteria ( 60 Marks on Hard Copy of Case Study, 30 Marks during Presentation and 10 Marks on QC Meeting Register).

Secretary QCFI Bokaro Chapter Sri MK Dubey welcomed all the dignitaries and presented the Secretary’s Report of the QCFI Bokaro Chapter.

In the Award ceremony held on 27 th Oct-2018’ CCQC Winners, Quiz Competition & Model Competition, winners were honoured by Sri PK Singh, CEO, Bokaro Steel Plant & Hony. Chief Patron QCFI, Bokaro Chapter,  Sri HP Singh, ED (MM), Sri SK Singh, ED(W) BSL  and Hony. Chairman QCFI, Bokaro Chapter, Sri RC Srivastva, ED (Proj), Sri AB Choudhury, Director, QCFI, HQ  and Sri K Harinaraya, CEO (BPSCL).

The Vote of Thanks was delivered by Sri R Harkerni, Hon. Joint Secretary QCFI, Bokaro Chapter.

Anchoring was done by Sri LV Singh, QC Member (Bokaro Steel Plant).